Virginia Reckless Driving - What is it and How to Defend a Reckless Driving Ticket in Virginia
The Process of a Reckless Driving Ticket in Virginia
If you have been issued a reckless driving ticket you may want to consider hiring an experienced traffic defense attorney to help with your case. Reckless driving is a class 1 misdemeanor punishable by a jail term of up to 12 months and a maximum $2500 dollar fine. Your license may also be suspended for 6 months. You may have valid defenses to your charge, but you must call the Strong Law Firm to find out more information.
In Virginia, if you drive in excess of 20 mph over the posted speed limit or in excess of 80 mph, you are said to be driving reckless. The Virginia Code states in 46.2-862:
A person shall be guilty of reckless driving who drives a motor vehicle on the highways in the Commonwealth (i) at a speed of twenty miles per hour or more in excess of the applicable maximum speed limit or (ii) in excess of eighty miles per hour regardless of the applicable maximum speed limit.
Options for Trial
A reckless driving charge may be lessened by several important factors. It is important to consult with your attorney to determine what factors might apply to your case.
- Good driving record- this goes without saying that if this is your first offense you may find a forgiving judge.
- Speedometer reading incorrectly- if your equipment malfunction you may receive a faulty equipment fine instead.
- Radar calibration issues- if the radar was not calibrated correctly in pursuant to Virginia law, your ticket may be dismissed.
- Legitimate emergency- in some cases you may have needed to speed, but such a defense is not highly favored.
- A caution sign is not a speed limitation sign- this may be the case if you are driving in a curve at the speed limit and have an accident.
- If you have an accident this does not necessarily mean you were driving reckless- this will vary based on the facts of your case.
There are many other factors that can help lessen your reckless driving punishment and your attorney might be able to further lessen your potential jail time and fine. You will likely need to:
- Get a copy of your driving record
- Have your speedometer calibrated
- Take a driver education class
After your attorney reviews your case, he will be able to better assess the proper way to go about your reckless driving ticket. Call the Strong Law Firm today to help get the process started.
Remember the judge has discretion to reduce your ticket to improper driving if you present adequate merit. See Va. Code: 46.2-869.
If you received your reckless driving ticket in northern Virginia, Washington D.C. or in Maryland area you should call the Strong Law Firm so we can represent your case without you having to travel. You will not have to be physically present at trial in most situations. We can take care of contesting the ticket for you.
THE STRONG LAW FIRM handles reckless driving tickets throughout Northern Virginia, Fairfax, Falls Church, Arlington, Alexandria, Annandale, Ashburn, Sterling, Reston, McLean, Manassas, Woodbridge, and Loudoun County.
CALL THE STRONG LAW FIRM AT 703-350-4241 today.
EMAIL YOUR RECKLESS DRIVING QUESTIONS TO:firstname.lastname@example.org